Couch to 5k, it works… really!

16 05 2010

Right now my main form of exercise is running. I found a great program online called the couch to 5k running plan. It is a gradual plan that takes 9 weeks and its a gentle way for ANYONE to start a running regimen. Literally thousands of people have had success with it, including myself.

You start off with just a minute of running at a time and by the end you are able to run 3 miles, or 5k, without any walking. I am currently on week 5 day 3 and will be running 2 miles without any walking today. Its going to be a challenge day but this program has given me the confidence that I CAN run 2 miles straight. It may be hard and I may want to stop half way though, but I know I can do it because of how far I have progressed on this plan. I feel successful while on this plan so I KNOW I can be successful today.

Well that was a tangent wasn’t it?

Anyways, I have posted the entire plan on a new page. You can find the link up near the top right under the header. I encourage, or rather CHALLENGE, everyone to do the Couch the 5k plan. Running is free, all you need is a decent pair of tennis shoes. Each day takes less then 30 min to complete and you feel great each time you finish your run.

Let me know if anyone has any questions about the plan and let me know if you are doing it or will be starting the plan! I love to be a cheerleader for anyone who is switching to a healthy lifestyle.

You can do it!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

